Several individuals, groups, and businesses were honored November 16 at Hospice Care Plus’s annual dinner, held in November to celebrate National Hospice Month.

Staff members were honored for years of service and presented with employee awards.  The Above and Beyond Awards were presented to four community partners who go to great lengths to support hospice and palliative care and the Hospice Care Plus mission.

Congratulations to all the award winners, and thank you for all you do for our organization!


Baptist Health Lexington Palliative Care Program: For their dedication to the needs of patients and families, for ensuring access to hospice and palliative care, and for their commitment to quality of life. Laura Dicks accepted the award on behalf of the program.

Beattyville Christian Church: For donating their space for several years as the site for the Evening of Music, a fundraiser that has generated $10,000 in support of our programs and services.  Evening of Music volunteers and organizers were included in this honor (Suzie Booth, Lynda Congleton, Geneva Duncil, Cheri Murrey, and Avis Thompson, all of whom are either current or former Hospice Care Plus board members).  Pastor Ken Ward accepted the award on behalf of the church.

Eastern Kentucky University Student Alumni Ambassadors (SAA): For 14 years of volunteering to valet park guests at the Gala on Derby Eve. SAA Mikayla Courtney, Kayla Huff, Kelli Blount, and Kelsey Wolfzorn accepted on behalf of the EKU SSA program.

Peytontown Baptist Church: For donating funds and food to enable Hospice Care Plus to provide Thanksgiving meals to patients and families in need. Pastor Jonathan Tussey accepted on behalf of Peytontown Baptist.



Synergy Award: The Nursing Home Hospice Care Team. The Synergy Award is presented to a team or department that demonstrates ideals of collaboration and teamwork in meeting goals. Members of the Nursing Home Team are Chelsea Shearer, nurse aid; Connie Kates, nurse aid; Denise McKinney, chaplain; Dianna Bond, social worker; Dorsie Puckett, primary nurse; and Lori Lee, co-primary nurse.

Aspire Award: Denise Sparks, Admission Nurse. The Aspire Award is for new employees who aspire to the highest standards of performance and are committed to ongoing education, meeting goals and expectations, compassion in their care, and the mission of Hospice Care Plus.

Compassion in Action Award: Sally Iseral, Chaplain. The Compassion Award is for employees who go above and beyond the call of duty, cheers on others, is compassionate in their interactions, is willing to chip in, and has patients’ sand families’ interests at heart.

Excellence in Care Award: Teresa Turner, Nurse Practitioner. The Excellence Award is presented to those whose outstanding achievements and commitment to excellence enhance the care of patients, families, and the community.

Directors’ Award: Jennifer Ponder, Director of Home Care. The Directors’ Award is given to those employees who are strong advocates for hospice care, have a long-term commitment, and have gone above and beyond in their support of the organization.



20 Years:  Donna Tapley, Secretary

15 Years: Connie Kates, Nurse Aid

10 Years: Joyce Whallen, Billing Specialist and Missy Boyken, Nurse Aid

5 Years: Chelsea Shearer, Nurse Aid; Kacelia DeGregorio, Insurance Coordinator; Paige Tipton, Healthcare Liaison; and Regina King, Secretary