At its Annual Dinner on November 13, Hospice Care Plus honored numerous staff, leaders, and community members with awards and recognition.

Above and Beyond Award winners. Front row, from left: Arlene Mattingly and Trish Davis of Catholic Daughters of Saint Mark, Kandi Hylton and Casey Robinson of Davis & Hylton Accounting and Tax Service. Back row, from left: Robert Goforth and Jeremy Bowling of Hometown Pharmacy; Tyler and Dennis Roark of Kentucky Printing, along with Dennis’s fiancé Jamie; and Brandi Gilbert, also with Davis & Hylton.

Congratulations to the individuals and businesses who were honored, all of whom show great commitment to and support of the Hospice Care Plus mission.


Presented to businesses, churches, or civic groups who, for at least two years, have gone above and beyond in support of the Hospice Care Plus mission.

Catholic Daughters of Saint Mark, Richmond: For years of devotion to stocking the Compassionate Care Center’s hospitality cart with snacks and drinks, which supports family members and visits at the Center.

Conway Baptist Church, Mt. Vernon: For quietly and consistently making donations to Hospice Care Plus care and services over the years.

Davis & Hylton Accounting and Tax Service, Berea: For its varied support of care and services, from donations that help keep programs strong and sponsorships of fundraising events to volunteering with Hospice Care Plus.

Hometown Pharmacy, McKee:  For giving residents an opportunity to support hospice care by donating their Hometown Pharmacy trivia winnings to Hospice Care Plus.

Kentucky Printing, Richmond: For donations, sponsorships, organizing special events, and assisting Hospice Care Plus staff with donated professional services.



Mary Lou Whitt, an original founder of Hospice Care Plus, is recognized by CEO Gail McGillis for completing a six-year term on the Board of Directors.


Presented to outgoing Hospice Care Plus board members who have completed their terms.

Mary Lou Whitt, Secretary of the Board (and an original founder of Hospice Care Plus)

Dr. Linda Wray, President of the Board

Richard Snowden, Assessment Committee Member

Lynda Congleton, Planning Committee Member


Staff award winners. From left: Susan Field, Sarah Lilly, Kathy Bryant, Donna Tapley, Melanie Hacker, Heather Randall, and Denise McKinney. Not pictured: Regina King, Diana Bond


Sarah Lilly, nurse, and Heather Randall, social worker, co-winners of the Aspire Award for new employees.

Administrative Assistants Team (Kathy Bryant, Melanie Hacker, Regina King, Donna Tapley), winner of the Synergy Award.

Denise McKinney, chaplain, winner of the Compassion in Action Award

Diana Bond, social worker, and Susan Field, nurse, co-winners of the Excellence in Care Award.

Donna Angel, President of the Board, winner of the Directors Award.


Years-of-Service recognition. From left, front row: Melanie Hacker, Jenny Gray, Jennifer Ponder, and Lisa Knicely. From left, back row: Brooke Bentley, Angie Tankersley, Susan Field, Peggy Patrick, Chasity Coleman, and Chad Hembree. Not pictured: Felicia Mayes, Christal Isaacs, Jean Robinson, Jill Moore, Ruth Crutcher, JoNell House, Chandra Bicknell, Janiel Gammon, and Sally Iseral.


25 Years: Lisa Knicely

20 Years:  Chasity Coleman, Janiel Gammon, Peggy Patrick

15 Years:  Chandra Bicknell, Jenny Gray, Jennifer Ponder

10 Years:  Ruth Crutcher, Susan Field, Chad Hembree, JoNell House, Christal Isaacs, Jill Moore, Jean Robinson, Angie Tankersley

5 Years:  Brooke Bentley, Melanie Hacker, Sally Iseral, Felicia Mayes